Scientific Committee

Francesco is Full Professor of Chemical-Environmental Engineering and Coordinator of the PhD Program in Civil, Environmental, Building Engineering and Architecture at Polytechnic University of Marche (Italy). Since 2013 Francesco Fatone raised more than 5 million euros from EU-funded projects and more than 0.5 from private funding.

Francesco Fatone is or has been:

(a) Coordinator of the Horizon2020 Innovation Action "SMART-Plant" and Work Package leader of: n.2 Horizon Europe; n.6 Horizon2020 projects; n.2 PRIMA/Horizon2020; n.2 Water JPI; n. 2 LIFE+; n. 1 ENI CBC MED.

(b) Team member of more than 15 International R&D&I projects (FP6; FP7; Horizon2020; LIFE+).

(c) Editor in Chief of the H2Open Journal (IWA Publishing).

(d) Associate or guest editor of several scientific ISI journals, including Water Research, Process Biochemistry, Water Science and Technology.

(e) Member of expert committee about circular economy of the Italian Ministry of Environment.

(f) Chair of international conferences such as: IWA ecoSTP2014, 3rd European Nutrient Event (2018); 3rd IWA Resource Recovery Conference (2019);

(g) Former co-chair of the Specialist Group on Small Water and Wastewater Systems (SWWS) - International Water Association (IWA);

(h) Invited speaker and/or member of scientific committee of >30 international conferences;

(i) authors of > 120 SCOPUS-indexed paper cited > 3000 times - Hindex = 32;

(l) General Secretary of the IWA Resource Recovery from Water Cluster;

(m) Co-leader of the Cluster “Value in Water” within WATER EUROPE technological platform;

(n) co-leader of the WG Business Models in the European ICT4WATER Cluster;

(o) member of executive board of Ecomondo with responsibility of the Water thematic area;

(p) IWA Fellow;

(q) Water JPI management board member;

(r) Expert of the Body of Knowledge for the Water Scarsity in Southern Europe (EIT Water Scarcity);

(s) Leader of Circular Water VLT in Water Europe;

(t) doctor honoris causa at Technical University of Iasi (Romania);

(u) Member of the Joint Committee of Science and Technology for IFWS and Yellow River EIC (China).

Back to Scientific Committee